A day in the life of a 2020 graduate

I can’t believe there is a only month and a half left of 2020. I’m not quite sure how this happened. This has been the simultaneously slowest and fastest year of my life. I reached a big achievement, my graduation, in fact last Thursday my degree certificate finally landed in my mail box. But really what have I been doing since I finished Uni, if you keep reading you’ll find out what an average day look like.

My main activity is the job hunt. Which is time consuming, emotionally draining and so far unfruitfuI. The timeline below is from Friday the 13th, and as you’ll come to find out, it was pretty uneventful.

9am Time to wake up. Get ready for the day, in other words put on the comfiest clothes I can find and brush my teeth.

I grabbed the first cup of coffee of the day. While the coffee slowly woke me up fully, I scrolled through my socials and uploaded a picture to my newish instagram, where I practice my photography.

One of my old latte pictures from Mettricks UK.

10am On this day I had a goal, I wanted to finish the first draft of a cover letter for a job I’m excited about and adjust my cv to the role. So I started off by doing some research about the company. I also took some time to figure out the application process since each one is different. This job wanted the classic cover letter, CV combo, so that didn’t take long. I continued researching until it was time for lunch.

12 pm Made myself a sandwich and scrolled a bit more on the socials while I ate.

1pm Started adjusting my cv to the job, highlighting any experience that is more relevant to the role. I also started drafting out what I wanted to put into my cover letter whenever I thought of a point.

Image sourced from Pixabay.com

3pm It was time for another cup of coffee in order to take a break and get my focus back. It worked.

3.15pm I decided to tackle the first draft of the coverletter. Got that done and sent out a few emails, with questions I had.

6pm Dinner time.

7.30pm Watched the news. Then continued on to watch Doobidoo (a Swedish music entertainment program) with my mother.

I then went off and caught up with some youtube videos and then I headed off to bed.


This was not a fun or exciting day in anyway but it’s pretty much what most of my days look like. With a walk (with my camera) or a call with friends sprinkled in here and there to spice it up.

A picture taken on one of my recent walks at one of the nearby lakes.

Like most experiences, my experience as a graduate is individual. This year has made it even harder to get that first job than it already was and I can’t help but think that I’m lucky that my life is boring. There are so many things going on in the world with the pandemic and outside of the pandemic and I just kind of wish that everyones life could be as boring as mine is.

Hope you and your families are staying safe.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑